1 (edited by Thomas 2012-04-02 2:43 PM)

Topic: Film School Vs DIY Film Education

Hey there FFers, I'm sure most of you don't remember me with the exception of a few. It's been 2 Years since my last interaction with the FF community. Anyways, I wanted to get a topic started that would address a growing concern amongst college-age students interested in Film. The question is- Should one choose an education vs being self-taught?

I'll weigh in with my own ideas first but I REALLY would like to see what the opinions of the masses are (especially from those of you with your feet already firmly on the video-industry ground)

Film school has its obvious benefits: Proffesional Instruction, Liability-free (mostly) equipment use, and most importantly- Connections to other filmmakers and relevant people/resources.
Meanwhile, DIY film education is cheaper (MUCH cheaper) but lacks the dedicated teacher, the plethora of film students that live within a half-mile, and of course if you break it- you already bought it (which isnt too big of a deal what with warranties- but you can't try out a variety of equipment and methods quite as readily as in a film school). DIY film education does allow for a more personalized and focused experience (in my opinion) you buy the books, read the articles, and YOU pick the assignments and grade yourself. I might also add that since cameras (like DSLR for example) and overall equipment costs are becoming more affordable for the average 18-20 year-old.

I just wanted to throw some info out there and hear back from other people, as I'm now 2 years into an associates degree at a community college and as soon as this semester is over I'm going with option 2 (DIY film education). I have 8 grand saved up and I'm going to put it towards a DSLR camera (another thread to come about this later) and a new editing computer (possibly a thread to come from this later).

Its great to be back!

Re: Film School Vs DIY Film Education